SUPPORTING ARTISTS & PAINTING WALLS

Wrapping Charlotte in a blanket of color while working at the ground level to make The Arts more accessible and sustainable; we are artists working directly with artists to support and build our unique art community. 

Art starts conversations that leads to discussions & questions. Art allows people to see themselves in the expression of others. By allowing room for that platform in our city and our lives, by supporting artists and their work, by uplifting those around you in creative ways, you become a part of that conversation. Let's keep talking. 


 

  • Instagram

2020

TWO POINT OH

_DSC6542.jpg

VOICES IN 

 

LETTERS

Give artists a platform & the space to express themselves freely and magic will happen. On June 9, 2020 the City of Charlotte put its trust in the capable hands of their artist community. A community that was ready to answer the call. This trust was the fuel that enabled a team to rally together and produce a massive collaboration project. A project that normally would have taken up to 3 month to plan, curate, and execute was expedited into 72 hours. A feat that would not have been possible without giving 18 artists an uncensored and unrevised voice.

Within our artist community, there has been years of developing collaboration, support for each other and an underground push of urgency that lead to this moment. The right champions within our government opened the door for so many voices that needed to heard. But this mural does not solve the problems this country has been facing since its birth. This was an act of protest with art, a thoughtful agitation, a gift to the city and our neighbors who deserve a place to march, reflect, & gather and a reminder of what we are fighting for. The work is not done because the paint is dry.

 

Public art is meant to push the tough conversations further, normalize personal expression, bring forth new and varying perspectives and inspire creative thought. This is an artists purpose. May this project serve as a standard for freedom of expression and placing trust in our artists and may we move forward from this moment to pave the way for the change we seek.

across

ARTIST LIST

Dammit Wesley @dammit_wesley // Dakotah Aiyanna @dakotahaiyanna // Zacc McLean @part_t1m3 // Ty Adams @shin.tytsumaki⁣ // Abel Jackson  @artbyabel // Garrison Gist @2gzandcountin //⁣Arko @arko.clt // Owl @owl.clt // Kyle Mosher @thekylemosher // Tragic Zack @tragiczack // Franklin Kernes @fk.creative // Kiana Mui @kmuiii ⁣// Marcus Kiser @marcus_kiser // Jason Woodberry @jason_woodberry // ⁣Georgie Nakima @gardenofjourney // Matthew Clayburn @mattewclayburn⁣ // Frankie Zombie @frankie.zombie_ // CHD!WCK!  @chdwckart // John Hairston Jr. @jagolactus_ // Dari Calamari @daricalamari

 

PRODUCTION TEAM

brand the moth: @brand_the_moth

Sam Guzzie @samguzzie // Hannah Fairweather @hannahmfairweather // Haley Henry @haleydhenry

blkmrkt:@blkmrketclt

Dammit Wesley @dammit_wesley 

charlotte is creative: @cltiscreative

Tim Minor & Matt Olin

city of charlotte

artist support:

Mike Wirth @mikewirth // Bree Stallings @breequixote // Darion Fleming @daflemingo // Matt Moore @puckmcgruff // Matt Hooker @hookermedia // Osiris Rain @osirisrain // Lo'Vonia Parks @lovoniaparks // Dustin Moates @dustinmoates

mural mapping & stencils:

Aubrey Hedrick @aubreyhedrick

PHOTOGRAPHY

Carey King @mrcareyjking // Maleek Loyd @maleekloyd @loydvisuals

IMG-6187.JPG
IMG-6184.JPG
IMG-6192.JPG
DSCF4517.JPG
IMG-6193.JPG
BLM-Mural_Loyd-Visuals-screen-size.jpg

WHY THE MOTH

The moth is a symbol of transformation & conviction. We believe that The Arts can transform people as powerfully as they can reinvent spaces. We are determined to uplift our city, wrapping it with color, while simultaneously helping our community and its artists. As a moth is in a stage of metamorphosis and transition, so is our Queen City.

With each project & program we work to ‘brand’ the symbolic notion of the moth, its drive towards the light with the understanding there’s always room growth & change. We engage our community through public art with projects designed to fuel our unique art community. 
 Let’s start the conversation together.

Engaging our Charlotte community through public art projects designed for and created with local artists & residents to spark creativity, connection & education while providing support for local artists and fueling our unique art community.

Public art uplifts entire neighborhoods, while fostering creative discussion and healthy expression, making art more accessible and relatable to all. Directly involving community members in the art making process furthers engagement and captures the unique geocentric perspective, story and history in our city.

why murals

SUPPORT BTM

500 Terry Francois Street, San Francisco, CA 94158

BTM has lofty goals for 2020, including finding a new home for our permanent studio, workshop & creative hub for our city’s artists. We are so excited to share all of it with our community, while supporting artists and creativity in our city. We are currently seeking donations & support to continue our programming and expand our outreach making The Arts more accessible.

 

For direct sponsorship, donations or mural inquiries please reach out to BTM directly.

HOW TO GET INVOLVED?

REACH OUT

PARTNERS & SPONSORS

To those who make this possible.

united of carolinas.jpg
logo-south-end.png
the artisan's palate.jpg

© 2020 Brand the Moth 

Charlotte, NC

Partner,  Director of Programming: Sam Guzzie

Partner,  Director of Curation: Hannah Fairweather

Photography Credits: Gloria Zavaleta, Carey King, & Maddie McCarley

DONATE